2011 – Year in Review

I’ve officially been a runner for an entire year, feels so good! I started my journey as a runner in October of 2010 with a goal of completing one half-marathon. Never would have guessed that less than a year later I would have completed 3 half marathons as well as a full marathon.

Here are some highlights from 2011:

  • One 5k: Holiday Half and 5k
  • One 10k: Cinco De Mayo 10k
  • One 15k: Shamrock Run
  • 3 Half Marathons: Rock ‘n’ Roll Arizona, Whidbey Island Half, Sauvie Island Flat ‘n’ Fast Half.
  • One Marathon: Portland Marathon
  • One epic 200 mile relay: Hood to Coast Relay

I set some pretty ambitious goals at the beginning of the year, I met some, I didn’t meet others. What I’m most excited about is that I am now a runner and eagerly looking forward to the years ahead of me AS a runner.

  • I wanted to run 1500 miles in 2011, I ended up at 1,440.48.
  • I wanted to run my first marathon under 3:30, I did. In 3:23:13.
  • Wanted to break 1:40 in the half, I did. PR is 1:32:41 @ Sauvie.
  • Wanted to break 6:00 in the mile, never attempted this one. May of this year, I’ll get a shot at it.

After 1,440 miles. 8 races. Countless hours of stretching, massage, and ice baths – i’m still hungry for more.

Bring it on 2012.

[m]

~ by Michael Wolber on January 4, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
